Open Days and FoHM Diary

2017 Season

Herne Mill Opening Times

Herne Mill is open to the general public from Easter 2017 until the end of September.

The mill is open on

  • Sunday afternoons from 2:00 - 5:00pm with last admissions at 4:30pm.

The mill is also open, at the same times, on:

  • Bank Holiday Mondays,
  • Saturday of National Mills Weekend (9th May)
  • Thursdays in August and
  • Saturday of Heritage Open Days (12th Sept)

All subject to the availability of sufficient volunteers to act as mill managers, guides and sales staff

CLOSED -  Sunday 23rd July, Sunday 6th August & Thursday 10th August (due to lack of volunteer staff)

Open Days:

Sunday 7th May
Saturday 13th May - National Mills Weekend
Sunday 14th May - National Mills Weekend
Sunday 21st May
Sunday 28th May
Monday 29th May - Bank Holiday
Sunday 4th June
Sunday 11th June - Herne & Broomfield Garden Safari
Sunday 18th June
Sunday 25th June
Sunday 2nd July
Sunday 9th July
Sunday 16th July
Sunday 23rd July - CLOSED
Sunday 30th July
Thursday 3rd August
Sunday 6th August - CLOSED
Thursday 10th August - CLOSED
Sunday 13th August
Thursday 17th August
Sunday 20th August - Herne Bay Festival
Thursday 24th August - Herne Bay Festival
Sunday 27th August - Herne Bay Festival
Monday 28th August - Bank Holiday
Sunday 3rd September
Saturday 9th September - Heritage Open Days
Sunday 10th September - Heritage Open Days
Sunday 17th September
Sunday 24th September - Last Day of Season

Mill Tours

The mill is open by appointment at other times subject to the availability of sufficient guides.
If you would like to book a tour of the mill,
please contact Sally on 01227 687487 or e-mail Sally

Work Parties 2017

Work parties are held on most Wednesday mornings

There will be regular work parties on Wednesday mornings from 10:00 - 12:00

All Friends of Herne Mill, old and new, are welcome to come along and help with maintenance tasks that range from cleaning to carpentry, painting to engineering, gardening to tidying up.
All skill levels are welcome and if you want to try your hand at more skilled jobs, training will be given.

Additional work parties for specific jobs will be arranged as necessary.

For more details, contact Megan on 01304 268116





Herne Mill a traditional Kentish Smock Mill owned by KCC and managed by the Friends of Herne Mill
Community Web Kit provided free by BT